History of Annual Meetings

ARDA's history stretches back to 1906 when the first Annual Meeting took place in Chicago, IL. Interrupted only by World War, the Annual Meeting offered railroad professionals a forum through which to discuss pressing economic, regulatory and technological issues impacting their industry. At the forefront of the early ARDA Annual Meetings was the role of the railroads in developing the economic and industrial power of Canada and the United States.

Click here to read George F. Weston's chronicle of the early days of ARDA.

Recent ARDA Annual Meetings

Year City State President Tenure Company
2009 Annapolis MD Roger Bennett 2008-09 Norfolk Southern Railroad, Philadelphia, PA
2010 Savannah GA Richard Sibley 2009-10 CSX Real Property, Inc., Jacksonville, FL
2011 Seattle WA John Rider 2010-11 BNSF Railway, Kansas City, KS
2012 Orlando FL Kevin Keller 2011-12 HDR, Inc., Kansas City, MO
2013 San Francisco CA Leo Thorbecke 2012-13 AECOM, Inc., Bloomington, IN
2014 Calgary AB David Drach 2013-14 Canadian Pacific, Minneapolis, MN
2015 Denver CO Elizabeth (Brown) Steel 2014-15 Kansas City Southern Railway, Kansas City, MO
2016 Las Vegas NV Stephanie Johnson 2015-16 Florida East Coast Railway, Jacksonville, FL
2017 Memphis TN Alan Sisk 2016-17 Norfolk Southern Corp., Atlanta, GA
2018 New York NY Gary Rozmus 2017-18 GEI Consultants, Huntington Station, NY
2019 Nashville TN Mark Holder 2018-19 HDR, Inc., Omaha, NE
2020 Virtual    Doug Morrison 2019-20 HDR, Inc., Omaha, NE
2021 Virtual   Mike Ray 2020-21 BNSF, Ft. Worth, TX
2022 Salt Lake City UT Devin Sprinkle 2021-22 CN
2023 Washington D.C. Matt Cangiolosi 2022-23 CSX Transportation, Inc.

The full list of ARDA Annual Meetings and Past Presidents can be downloaded here.